Thursday, July 11, 2013


Four municipalities in Morris and Essex counties will share $67,036 in state Safe Corridor grants to improve motorist safety along Route 46, announced Assemblywoman BettyLou DeCroce (R- Essex Morris, Passaic).

The municipalities receiving the funds are: Montville, which will receive $18,503;
Parsippany, $910; Rockaway Township, $9,403; and Fairfield $38,220.

Assemblywoman DeCroce explained that the safe corridor grants can be used by municipalities to purchase law enforcement equipment, including police vehicles, radar equipment, hardware and software for computers, as well as for police salaries.

“Highway safety is very important and I want to thank Gov. Christie for releasing this money that will help improve safety for my constituents who travel the heavily used highway that runs through my legislative district,” said DeCroce.

The Safe Corridor grant program originated in 2003 and targets resources to 14 ten-mile segments of several highways that have a history of high automobile crash rates. Grants are supported by fines which are doubled in designated Safe Corridors for a variety of moving violations, including speeding.

No comments:

Post a Comment